Breeder of High Class - Quality  
AKC Registered - OFA Certified
German Shepherd Dogs since 1992.

Testimonials

Von Sonnenberg Kennels would like to thank all our new Puppy Owners who have provided excellent
loving homes for their girls and boys and for sharing with us photos and stories about their experiences with their puppies.

We appreciate your photos and and kind words,  we love your feedback about how your puppy has
enriched you and your family's life (lives).  We wish you continued love and success with your precious Von Sonnenberg puppy.

Below are Testimonials written by our new Puppy Owners as well as photos of their Von Sonnenberg
German Shepherd Dog puppy and photos of their puppy(s) as they have developed.

If you would like to see your puppy on this page,  
please send Karon an update/testimonial with photographs of your Von Sonnenberg puppy to
her Email address:  stzarz@msn.com

We at Von Sonnenberg Kennels German Shepherd Dogs appreciate and cherish your photos
and stories,  as well as your friendship.  Thank you!  ~ Karon Melillo DeVega 

 

 



AKECHETA VON SONNENBERG
call name "Ake"
age 11 months 30 days (the day before his 1st Birthday), photo taken by owner:  Sharon Stumpf in Washington


AKECHETA VON SONNENBERG - age 6 months
from the Von Sonnenberg "Aa" Litter born 11 October 2015
photo by Sharon Stumpf, Chewalah, Washington


Akecheta von Sonnenberg (age 6 months)  and Ysabel von Sonnenberg (age 20 months)
from the Von Sonnenberg "Aa Litter and the "Y" Litter

"Ake is all BOY and a beautiful and loyal personality to boot!  Karon raises the BEST GSD's!  Wish I had hundreds of acres to raise MORE on!  Ysa and Ake are all I could ever ask for!  Feeling SO blessed to have them both!"

Sharon Stumpf
Veterinary Technician/Artist/Agriculturalist
Chewalah, Washington

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Sharon Stumpf in Facebook on 
03 May 2016.  Ysabel von Sonnenberg was born in my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter in July 2014, and Akecheta von Sonnenberg was born in my Von Sonnenberg "Aa" Litter in October 2015].


Alexander von Sonnenberg 
from the Von Sonnenberg "Aa" Litter born 11 October 2015


Alexander von Sonnenberg
age 5 months,  photos taken on 31 March 2016 by Karon Melillo DeVega
at Alexander's new owner's home, Sue Davis in Hamilton, Montana


Alexander von Sonnenberg age 5 months, with his new owner, Sue Davis

ALEXANDER VON SONNENBERG
Von Sonnenberg "Aa" Litter born 11 October 2015

"Have bought 2 of Von Sonnenberg puppies.  We purchased our first German Shepherd Dog from Karon Melillo DeVega, Von Sonnenberg Kennels in 1997 from her Von Sonnenberg "I" Litter,  Iron von Sonnenberg whose call name was "Fronz" lived to be 13 years of age.  He was so loved, intelligent, loyal, loving, protective and a member of our family.  Alexander will be loved the same way.  These German Shepherds are of the highest quality, awesome temperaments and personalities.  I recommend Karon Melillo DeVega of Von Sonnenberg Kennels if you are looking for an excellent German Shepherd as a loyal and smart family member.  I couldn't be any happier."

Sue Davis,  Hamilton, Montana

[Note:  this testimonial was written and published in Facebook by Sue Davis on 14 April 2016.]

Brittany Mumford and Zella Amare von Sonnenberg
age 7 months, March 2016
Von Sonnenberg "Z" Litter born 08 August 2015


Brittany Mumford and Zella Amare von Sonnenberg age 6 months

ZELLA AMARE VON SONNENBERG
Von Sonnenberg "Z" Litter - Born August 2015
with her new Owner,  Brittany Mumford in Washington

"Dear Karon,  When I was searching for a beautiful German Shepherd puppy to bring into my home and give a lifetime of love to,  I wanted to find the most perfect Breeder out there that cared and loved their dogs!!!  I found just that,  and I could not be happier with my Zella Amare von Sonnenberg.  She is so smart and gorgeous!  So loving and loyal!!!  She is perfect, and I thank you so much for her Karon!!!

Zella is the most sweet, loving, caring most beautiful puppy EVER!!!  She is so absolutely perfect in every way,  I can't even explain how happy I am.  We have a bond that cannot be broken,  she loves me so much and I love her!!!  We are the perfect match.  She follows me everywhere,  and she lays at my feet.  I lay with her and talk to her softly,  and she loves to be close and snuggle.  Karon,  I cannot thank you enough,  Zella is more than I ever dreamed of,  thank you!!"  

Brittany Mumford, Republic, Washington



Zula Bear von Sonnenberg with her new mommy,  Mary Boone
photo taken by Karon Melillo DeVega

ZULA BEAR VON SONNENBERG
Von Sonnenberg "Z" Litter - Born August 2015
photo by Owner:  Mary Boone

"Dear Karon,  I hope you will stop by and visit someday because you will be so pleased by how well Zula Bear is doing.  I had been dreaming of the day of her arrival for so long.  I am so in joy of having my new family member.  Thank you Karon!  In my opinion,  you are the best Breeder on earth and set a standard that all breeders should follow.  Thank you for being so awesome - with photos and videos.  Thank you for Zula Bear so much!!

You just have no idea the preparations I have made ... I built an outside area that is just for her off my back porch all fenced in and graveled and I bought her so many things!

I am so in JOY of her arrival I am so in joy of having my new family member.  Thank you Karon! you are such an awesome lady.  Zula Bear von Sonnenberg is so precious.  She is wonderful and more amazing than I could ever dream.  I must react to that, as if I were handed - a very prized jewel !!  Thank you for all your support and encouragement, as - I (I hence forth) am living with and am responsible for a most amazing - German Shepherd Dog"  

Mary Boone,  Lolo, MT



ZORRO VON SONNENBERG - age 6 months - 08 February 2016
photo by Melissa Hjelle

ZORRO VON SONNENBERG
Von Sonnenberg "Z" Litter - Born August 2015
with his new family:  Troy, Melissa, Spencer and Samuel of Frenchtown, Montana

"Karon, I wanted to let you know how much we LOVE Zorro!  He is such a wonderful puppy!
He has taken to the boys so well!  Thank you so much for such an awesome addition to our family!  

Zorro loves running & playing with the boys.  He is such a great puppy!  He listens so well, is so very gentle, and so very smart!"  

Melissa Hjelle, Frenchtown, Montana




YSABEL VON SONNENBERG
Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter - Born July 2014
(pictured age 14 months September 2015 by Owner:  Sharon Stumpf)

YSABEL VON SONNENBERG -
(pictured age 11 months by owner:  Sharon Stumpf)

"I am an "owner" of my MOST precious "Y" Litter Puppy Ysabel von Sonnenberg,  
purchased from Karon in August 2014.  The smartest,  the most loveable and loyal puppy
I have EVER known!  Intelligent beyond words!  Beautifully marked and our forever baby girl!  

I have never known a breeder that is SO professional and SO willing to help with anything you may
have a question about.  So much information and JOY that Karon shares with every single new puppy owner!  I KNOW she truly LOVES each puppy ~ that is a certainty!   I really can't say enough about
Karon and her most extraordinary exquisite German Shepherd Dogs.

I have never known a breeder with so much "follow through" on information, photos and general
care and advice such as you offer!

I know you truly LOVE each and every puppy!  From the first photos (...out of the womb) to each
photo as they grow up is so special.  You know their personality and gladly share that with all future
owners.  Such professionalism!

We adore Ysabel and thank you so much FOR her!!  Thank you Karon for ALL you DO!!  
LOVE everything about your Precious German Shepherd Dogs,  your breeding program ...
my Ysabel (purchased from you) and of course LOVE you and all the hard work you do to make "us" HAPPY!"

Sharon Stumpf
Veterinary Technician/Artist/Agriculturalist
Chewalah, Washington

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Sharon Stumpf in Facebook on
10 April 2015.  Ysabel von Sonnenberg was born in my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter in July 2014].



OLYMPIA VON SONNENBERG HOF

"Our Von Sonnenberg "O" Litter girl, Olympia River von Sonnenberg,  was a most special, important loving
part of our family.  She was loyal, smart, funny, engaging and the best dog I've ever known.

We had a long, love filled 13 years with Olympia and now, our family is ready to open our hearts again.  When we started talking about getting a puppy,  our first goal was to get in touch with Karon again
to get another extraordinary girl.  So happy this is working out.
 I'll scan and post some of our photo of Olympia River."

Stacy Shearer
Missoula, Montana

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Stacy Shearer purchased a Female from my
Von Sonnenberg "O" Litter born in 1998.]


  


YOSHI YOG-SOTHOTH VON SONNENBERG
 

"Yoshi Yog-Sothoth von Sonnenberg inspires me in a way no other dog has.  He's challenging and more present in a tangible intelligent way than other dogs I've come to know well.  This German Shepherd argues with me (okay,  I'm laying down,  but I'm not happy about it."  I have to convince him to do everything by a positive attitude and luckily he has an incredibly sweet disposition at his core.  

He's really a NICE soul.  After doing a training exercise a number of times,  he does it on command and gets praise and wags his tail and paws at the air and off we go.

Yet.... He pushes my boundaries when my attention isn't directly on him.  I have to reteach him things that I'm positive he knows but wants to see if I'll let him get away with it.  But he's intuitive and real and super funny and a very very good boy, really.  Every member of the family has had to earn his respect in similar fashion.  He's not a simple dog to train,  requiring a fair amount more attention to reinforce things even though he's learned everything in about 2 tries.  But he's always watching.  He is a GateKeeper,  a NightWatchman.

We've had to negotiate a way of talking nonverbally because he's also super sensitive.  His skin is like a horse's in some ways:  you don't pat him hard or use your fingers to ruff him up...he doesn't like your hands coming at him like you're going to grab him ..He is the first puppy I've ever had who didn't scramble for the door to meet whoever was there - but waited and watched and was wary,  always keeping watch on the perimeter.

He's intense.  We SUPER love him."  

Jonathon Richter, Ed.D.;
Media Design Program Department Chair,  Salish Kootenai Tribal College.

Research Associate
Center for Advanced Technology in Education (CATE)
University of Oregon


Adjunct Instructor;  Curriculum and Instruction
University of Montana
Missoula,  Montana 

[NOTE:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Jonathon Richter when Yoshi Yog-Sothoth was only 4 months old,  in November 2014.  Yoshi was born in my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter in July 2014.]

 






Marko von Sonnenberg Hof with Karon Melillo DeVega
Photo by John Patterson, III, Esq.


MARKO VON SONNENBERG HOF
Photo by Owner:  John Patterson, III, Esquire


MARKO VON SONNENBERG HOF

"You are the Master German Shepherd Dog Breeder.  Your Shepherds are always top of the line.  I thank you for Marko and Tessa - how my life has been enriched by their presence and love.  Oh to hug "Gerrybelle" aka Marko and Tessie girl.  I love them so much."

John F. Patterson III, Esq.
Attorney at Law/Professional Photographer/Writer
Missoula,  Montana

[NOTE: from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by John F. Patterson III on 17 February 2015 in Facebook.   John had purchased Marko von Sonnenberg Hof as Breeder Select Pick of the Litter Male from my "M" Litter born in 1997.  In 2000 John F. Patterson and Karon Melillo DeVega Owner/Breeder of Von Sonnenberg Kennels German Shepherd Dogs entered into a legal Breeding Contract with Marko von Sonnenberg Hof who Sired the Von Sonnenberg "T" Litter and Tessa von Sonnenberg Hof was selected by John F. Patterson III as "Pick of the "T" Litter) born in January 2001].



 


YSABEL VON SONNENBERG

"I have never known a breeder with so much "follow through" on information, photos and general care and advice such as you offer!

I know you truly LOVE each and every puppy!  From the first photos (...out of the womb) to each photo as they grow up is so special.  You know their personality and gladly share that with all future owners.  Such professionalism!

We adore Ysabel and thank you so much FOR her!!  Thank you Karon for ALL you DO!!  LOVE everything about your Precious German Shepherd Dogs,  your breeding program ... my Ysabel (purchased from you) and of course LOVE you and all the hard work you do to make "us" HAPPY!"

Sharon Stumpf
Artist/Veterinarian Assistant/Agriculturalist
Chewalah, Washington

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Sharon Stumpf in 2014,  Ysabel was born in my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter in 2014.]



AXEL VON MELILLOHAUS  (call name- "Marko")
photo of Axel von Melillohaus with Karon Melillo DeVega.
Axel is from my Von Sonnenberg "A" Litter
born:  12 September 1995

WEIKO VON SONNENBERG  (when he was a baby) Von Sonnenberg "W" Litter 

WEIKO VON SONNENBERG at 8 weeks of age with owner:  Anthony Bray

 WEIKO VON SONNENBERG (at 18 months)

"Dear Karon,  We have had the priviledge of owning 4 of Karon's Von Sonnenberg German Shepherd Dogs,  pups all excellent extraordinary dogs.  Blessings!  we all loved Marko very much,  even our family and friends miss Marko!  He was a fabulous dog,  and he made our lives very happy.  So full of life,  and we enjoyed every minute.  Weiko is a wonderful bright,  willing intelligent dog,  we love him.  Thank you!"

Ruth Bray and Anthony Bray
Ruth - Business Accountant
Missoula, Montana

Anthony Bray - U.S. Marines
Bozeman, Montana 

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Ruth Bray in 2014.  "Axel von Melillohaus "Marko" was born in my Von Sonnenberg "A" Litter in 1995 and lived to be 13 years old;  and Weiko von Sonnenberg was born in my "W" Litter in 2012.] 


 


"Love these German Shepherd Dogs,  Do me a favor and share my friend's website vonsonnenberg.com if you want a top of the line pedigreed German Shepherd Dog,  this is where you want it from."

Bob Ralston
Retired Military Police K9 Officer
Washington

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written and shared by Bob Ralston in Facebook in 2014]

 

 


D ARA VON SONNENBERG HOF

"D Ara von Sonnenberg Hof was a beautiful girl and a good girl,  you put a lot of work into raising your babies and photographing them,  I wish more breeders do what you do,  the pictures you take are amazing,  and the love you have for your dogs is amazing.  Ara did well at the AKC shows and she loved the agility classes."

Gail Vernon
Artist/Secretary/Professional Dog Handler
Montana

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  this testimonial was written by Gail Vernon and shared in Facebook in 2014.  Ara was born in my Von Sonnenberg "D" Litter in 1996.] 

 

 


REYKO VON SONNENBERG HOF
from my Von Sonnenberg "R" Litter 

UBELLA VON SONNENBERG "India"
from my Von Sonnenberg "U" Litter

WILLOW VON SONNENBERG
from my Von Sonnenberg "W" Litter

YONA VON SONNENBERG  with sire, Enzo vom Spitzenhund and Michael and Lucy
Yona von Sonnenberg is from my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter 
 

"Hi everyone in Von Sonnenberg Land,  I especially want to thank Karon for her hospitality and friendship and trusting us with Yona,  the newest member of our family.  Since his name in Cherokee means "Bear",  we are hoping he will grow into that name.  So far it looks like he will.  He braved the long trip to Colorado and separation from everything he has known like a Champion.  Besides,  facing four grown GSDs and making friends is no easy task!!  So far the pack accepts him as a new Pup/Pack member and has gathered around him in a protective circle.

As we begin this new circle for our family,  I want to congratulate everyone who is fortunate enough to receive one of these incredible Puppies.  May they be good friends to you as all of them have been to us.  I have 12 years and four Von Sonnenberg GSDs to prove that.  

Karon,  thank you for letting us meet and see Enzo,  Xzar, Alexis and all the wonderful GSDs you have.  They are a pure delight and you are very fortunate to have them.  To own and love a Von Sonnenberg GSD is to know a piece of heaven.  Thank you for the work you do with GSDs.  I feel you have a rare intuitive talent and ethics with these incredible dogs."

Michael R. Coultrap, MSM-ISS; PM, CE, EE, CS; SEC+
U.S. Military Cyber Security Specialist/Analyst
Monument, Colorado

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Michael Coultrap purchased Reyko von Sonnenberg Hof from my Von Sonnenberg "R" Litter born in 1999,  Ubella "India" von Sonnenberg from my "U" Litter born in 2002,  Willow von Sonnenberg from my "W" Litter born in 2012,  and Yona von Sonnenberg from my "Y" Litter born in 2014.] 


 



WAIKI ANKA VON SONNENBERG age 2 years
photo shared by Lynn Wolf from Colorado



WAIKI ANKA VON SONNENBERG - age 6 weeks - photo by Karon Melillo DeVega
just 2 weeks before Lynn Wolf took possession of her beloved baby boy!  

XIA VON SONNENBERG

"Karon Melillo DeVega is a master of Master Breeder, and I have two beyond amazing pups out of Alexis!!!!  They are highly intelligent and highly trainable.... I hike everywhere with my pups from the Von Sonnenberg "W" Litter and "X" Litter,  and they are amazing with bikers zooming by and runners and other dogs and cars and horses and even learned to focus on me when deer take off running.... and not to mention the LOVE is beyond any on this planet...  yes,  a master of master of all breeders!!!  And amazingly beautiful dogs as people all the time point out how beautiful they are..

I have so many tears of gratitude for the MIRACLE of Waiki Anka and Xia... for you Karon Melillo DeVega breeding and LOVING such excellent pups... only tears right now of the gift of Waiki Anka... he is PERFECT!!!!  I am so immensely grateful for the PERFECT PUPS bred with LOVING mastery by Karon Melillo DeVega.  Waiki Anka and Xia balance each other in every way and love each other and each also loyal to me.  It is like they came with a training manual already installed... they are so intelligent.  I just speak what I want and they do it... truly they know our language.

Karon, you photograph the whole birth of each of the puppies!!!!  Magical... brought tears to my eyes!!!  And then I glance over at my two amazing von Sonnenberg babies out of Alexis and I know that others will be filled with LOVE and JOY that I have in my heart every moment of every day and all night... Karon you are a master breeder of the German Shepherd Dog!!!  And I am forever grateful!!!"

Lynn Wolf
Animals in Balance/Holistic Animal Healthcare/Healer
Colorado

 

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Lynn Wolf purchased Waiki Anka von Sonnenberg from my Von Sonnenberg "W" Litter born in 2012,  and Xia von Sonnenberg from my "X" Litter born in 2013.]





Yukon von Sonnenberg
Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter - Born:  July 2014
Photo by Owner:  Ashley Finley - Arlee, Montana 

 


YUKON VON SONNENBERG
from my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter

"Yukon loves his "human litter mates"  as much as they love him.  My youngest has affectionately named him "Kon".  The love and protection Yukon has for our boys is astounding!"

Ashley Finley
Montana 

 

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Ashley Finley purchased Yukon von Sonnenberg from my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter born in 2014.]

 

 



YVO VON SONNENBERG age 7 months
photo by his owner Amanda McFrickel

YVO VON SONNENBERG
from my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter

"Yvo is totally amazing...the boys have been calling him "Trapper",  Yvo is finding in like he's been here the whole time,  he's awesome!"

Amanda McFrickel Crosby-Kaepernick
Havre,  Montana

 

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Amanda purchased Yvo from my Von Sonnenberg "Y" Litter born in 2014.] 

 

 


ALEXANDER REYKO VON MELILLOHAUS, K9 Police Dog, CD, CDX, UD

"Reyko is the most beautiful and highly intelligent dog I have ever known.  I purchased him as an 8-week old pup and trained him in narcotics,  tracking and patrol work.  He excells in everything he does,  and Reyko acquired his K9 Service Badge and K9 Service with the Missoula County Sheriff's Department just a few days after his 3rd birthday.  Reyko is a wonderful friend,  companion and gets along so well with our family, children and with our cat.  Yet he is formidable as a Police Dog excellent in Search and Rescue,  Schutzhund, Cadaver Search,  Patrol,  Narcotics, Tracking and Bomb Detection.  Thank you Karon for this magnificent dog."

Steve Nelson
Missoula County Sheriff's Deputy
Montana

 

[Note:  from Von Sonnenberg Kennels,  Steve Nelson purchased Alexander Reyko von Melillohaus from my Von Sonnenberg "A" Litter born in 1995 placing his Deposit and Reservation when my litter of pups were only 5 weeks old,  Steve and I personally evaluated my litter of pups,  and I recommended to Steve, and he purchased and Reserved his male puppy when my litter was only 6 weeks old, Steve took possession of Reyko when he was 8 weeks old,  and every day Steve Nelson personally trained this German Shepherd Dog ever since he was a puppy,  highly excelling with great honors and achievements in every category!  Steve Nelson is one of the most admirable men I have ever met with the most excellent education in meteorology and police service work,  dedicated his entire life to Police Work and K9 Service and Training daily with his Von Sonnenberg German Shepherd Dog REYKO.]